Only Use Licensed Movers: U-Haul and Fined by Florida

Licensed MoversST. PETERSBURG, Florida – Following a 10 News Investigators report into its affiliate website,, U-Haul was cited by the State of Florida for breaking laws regarding household movers. The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (DOACS), which regulates in-state and household movers to give consumer valuable protections, released its investigation two months after the first story aired on 10 News.

The 10 News Investigators exposed how was pushing unlicensed movers on customers, putting consumers at risk. The day labor is available to help load, unload, or drive rental trucks. But with no licenses, there was no oversight of their activity, no background checks, and no property insurance in case items get broken or go missing.

“There was a registration violation,” said Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putnam. “(U-Haul) has been issued an administrative letter and they…can either request a hearing or pay the fine.” U-Haul was fined just $1,000 for failing to comply with Florida laws, but the fine will start to grow if they continue to resist the regulation from DOACS. State law allows a maximum fine of $5,000 for unlicensed moving activity, but it is not clear if other legal options would be on the table for the state.

10 News spoke to representatives from U-Haul on Wednesday, but they did not provide comment for the story.


* this story originally appeared on Tampa Bay Channel 10 and can be found at

Post Comment